Fit and Fabulous by 50: Let’s get started!

Fit and fabulous by 50?  Is it possible?  I have a little over 6 months until I turn 50 so I am counting on it being possible.  My goal is to lose 43 pounds.  That is an average of 7 pounds a month.  That’s realistic if I am serious about my goal.  And I am serious.  My goal is not appearance driven.  It is health driven.  And all of my research and conversations with my doctor tell me losing weight is a great way to begin being healthy on the inside.  It will result in a physical change, too.  But that’s just a bonus, not the goal.

In January I was flagged with Type II Diabetes.  It is hereditary (more so than Type I, according to my doctor) but I am sure that my life-long habits of poor eating and hit-or-miss exercise didn’t help my current health situation.  Otherwise, I wouldn’t be almost 50 pounds overweight.  The diagnosis scared me.  The way I saw it, there were a few ways to look at it.  The outlook I chose was to accept my part in the diagnosis and then do what I can to change the outcome of my future. 

That brings us to today.  Although I have already begun taking steps to reach my goal, today I have decided to create a blog to share my journey.  Today is Sunday, April 10th.  There are about 26 weeks until my birthday.  This seems like an appropriate day to start then since my birthday is the 26th of October. 

I will share my progress and my struggles on this blog.  I will also share what I learn on this journey such as Diabetes-friendly recipes and what workouts are producing the best results for me.  This blog will provide me a certain amount of structure and accountability.  I’m finding I need that.  But more than that, I hope my journey serves others who are also at this point in life and find themselves facing similar changes.  I have several people in my close circle that I now know are diagnosed with Type II Diabetes and have similar health issues as I do.  Let’s take control of our health together.  It IS possible.

Until next week……. 

Leave a Reply

