New car syndrom

Have you ever purchased a new car and then suddenly started noticing that same car in the same color everywhere?  That’s sort of what I am experience recently with Diabetes.  I am finding there are more people with Diabetes around me than I realized.  I guess I shouldn’t be too surprised since there are about 29.1  million people with Type II Diabetes in the U.S. (cdc.gov., 2014). I am just a little surprised to learn how many of them I know!  Some of the folks are very positive and share great tips on how they are managing their lives.  Others are a little less successful and I am able to offer them encouragement.  I love being in the position to help. 

Last week I found myself taking with a co-worker that also has Diabetes.  We were talking rather jokingly about this transition and I stated that sometimes I am still not making the best choices and my numbers reflect my choices.  On the way home, I was thinking about the conversation. My friend and I had some laughs, but then I thought, what I need to be hyper aware of is the fact that joking about ‘falling off the wagon’ is a slippery slope.  It does happen but it doesn’t have to and it can’t happen frequently.

I’m not trying to be negative.  I just want to be careful about crossing the line between joking about slipping up with too many carbs and accepting this as okay.  I encourage you, too, to be careful if you have been diagnosed with Type II Diabetes.  I think what causes us to cross that line is that we don’t initially feel any different.  Most of the symptoms are silent until it’s too late.

 If you  have Type II Diabetes, what are some of the struggles you had when first diagnosed?  Do you have tips for staying ON the wagon?  Please share!! 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

