Good morning! For several weeks now, I have been diligent in monitoring my glucose.  Admittedly I have been slacking a little with writing the numbers down, but I have been tracking it.  And, except for just a few times, my glucose has been in-check.  I have also started walking whenever I have a chance: during lunch, after work, and weekends.

This is all starting to pay off because as of last week, I have lost 12 lbs! For me, that is a huge win.  I had noticed a few pieces of clothing feeling looser but it never dawned on me that the reason was I had lost a little weight.  I never thought that because I just don’t lose weight.  Well that has changed, my friends.  That means only 37 more pounds to go before October 26th!!  Woot! Woot!

Over this past weekend, I received a letter from my doctor’s office saying it is time for my next check-up.  They reminded me how dangerous it is for Diabetes to go unmonitored. They mentioned the loss of limbs and eyesight. 

I started to feel scared when I read that letter.  Then I remembered that, although I am not perfect, I have done a lot better than what I had been doing that brought me to this point.  I’m watching the types of carbs, amount, and time-of-day they are consumed.  Walking. Checking my glucose.

When I was first diagnosed, I was scared.  And I was angry about this.  I wasn’t angry at my doctor.  I was angry at ME.  I knew better but chose to not be careful.  I chose.  Made a choice.  Well, I can make another choice and Diabetes doesn’t have to define me. 

That’s when I started checking and watching and walking.  I can tell when I have made a bad carb choice or ate too late in the evening.  No only does my glucose spike, but I now make the correlation between what I eat and how my body feels.  I feel bloated, tired and my ankle hurts (doctor said it’s probably nerve damage; feels like a ‘sprain’).  When I eat better and walk almost daily, I feel good.  No brainer, right?  Still, I slip some days. But the key is being aware.  Even though Diabetes is referred to as ‘the silent killer’, you can feel some things. Pay attention to your body.

Have you had the light bulb go off in your head, too?  Finally getting the phrase, “you are what you eat”?  Please share anything that has helped you stay on track or get back on track when you’ve strayed. 

Thanks for reading.  Until next time.

 

 

Leave a Reply

