Fitness goals at 50

My father once told me, many years ago, that we enter into our next year of life, basically, the day after our birthday.  So, for example, last October I celebrated my 50th birthday. But, I entered into my 50th year the day after my 49th birthday.  He was always sharing interesting things like that.

Since entering into my 50th year, a lot of things have come into focus for me.  And, boy, am I ever grateful.  One of these things has been that age is just number.  I’ve heard that before, but I was really starting to get it.  I guess that happen when you arrive at a certain point in life.  Apparently, I had arrived.

I began to realized what was really important and what I could finally let go of.  One of the things that has become important, consistently, is my health.  I have started and stopped healthy eating plans, bought multiple workout programs from late-night infomercials, and purchased and quit gym memberships throughout my adult life.

But now, something is different.  I think it’s different because this time, it really is about my health.  The goal is not my physical appearance. Any physical changes that come along with it are bonuses, not the focus. It is easier to keep to the plan because my well-being is MY well-being.  I’m not competing with anyone.

I’ve recently made the commitment to myself that Tuesday evenings are gym evenings.  I go straight to the gym after work.  But I forgot my gym bag today.  During the day, I found myself thinking I would probably not make it to the gym tonight because I can’t go straight there.  Then it hit me:  WHY can’t I go?  Am I not allowed to go back out?  The only thing stopping me from going to the gym was me.  And I control me.  Control.  That is another amazing thing I’ve discovered upon entering this new life season.

So, after a wardrobe change, I was out the door and headed to the gym!

The workout was great and I even got in some extra ab reps since I will not be at the gym tomorrow.  Wednesday and Thursday evenings are flexible because of other commitments.  I’ve learned I have to be willing to accept flexibility if I expect the pieces of my life to fit together somehow.

My Fabulous Over 50 journey has many goals.  This fitness goal is only one.  It’s not the grandest ever pursued, but it’s a big one for me.

I want to, no, I need to, lose a total of 49 lbs.  I know that sounds specific, and it is.  So far, I’ve lost 20 lbs. Yeay!  I started to lose a little momentum so I am back at it.  My other numbers (A1C, cholesterol, etc.) are reflecting it.

Who knew that eating healthy, drinking water, and moving your body really does make a positive impact on one’s overall health?  😉

Age is just a number.  True words.

Until next week…

Judy

Leave a Reply

